local teachers

The perfect resource for students & new musicians.

Local Music Teachers are the lifeblood of any musical community, and we are fortunate to have so many wonderful people available to us here in Maine. On this page you will find a list of teachers, their contact information, and area served. This is not an endorsement of any teachers in particular, but rather a resource to help you find an instructor to suit your needs. If you are a local music teacher and would like to be included here, please get in touch and we will be happy to add you. If you are a student and don’t see your favorite teacher here, please let us know. Thank you.

Terry
Falmouth
878-5991
mainesuzukiviolin@gmail.com
violin

Mary Eckstein
Standish
642-4368
belgraphica@fairpoint.net
violin, viola, cello

Christina Chute
Midcoast area
207-774-0714
cchute88@gmail.com
cello, violin, viola

Connie Clayton
York
831-3931

conniec717@hotmail.com
violin

Kathryn Pillsbury
Portland/Gorham
207-523-9070

kathryn.pillsbury@gmail.com
violin, viola

Sharon Henderson
Gardiner area
207-592-7828

sharon.henderson@fivetowns.net
violin

Eleanor Lehmann
Portland/Scarborough
839-9165

julylehmann80@gmail.com
violin, viola

Tamora Goltz
Boothbay
633-6148

curlewmusic@gwi.net
violin

Kate Gray
Bowdoinham area
666-5750

kategray@projectpluto.com
violin

Timothy Garrettt
Midcoast area
252-8045
garrett.timothy@gmail.com
cello

Vinny Fuerst
Portland/Midcoast area
232-5327
vfuerst@maine.rr.com
violin,piano,flute

Robin Jellis
Midcoast area
239-0974
rjcellist@gmail.com
cello

Margaret Hopkins
Various locations
651-5112
suznotes50@yahoo.com
violin,viola

Evan Pillsbury
Portland/Gorham
207-523-9071

evan.pillsbury@mac.com
cello

Pam Weeks
Bowdoin/Bath area
576-7296

pam@pamweeks.com
fiddle/violin, viola, cello

Susan Krongold
Brunswick/Bath area
576-5298

jazzaria1@gmail.com
violin, voice

Hannah Miller
Waldoboro/ Whitefield
207-208-7457

fiddler@falldownfarm.com
violin, viola

Julianne Eberl
Portland Public School Orchestra Program
207-615-1244

eberlj@portlandschool.org
cello, violin, viola

Ben Noyes
Various locations
1-239-580-7055
ben@bennoyes.info
cello

Eliza Meyer
Central Maine
313-2803
elizajacques@gmail.com
cello

Shaina Graff
Freeport / Portland
618-924-4500
shainastrings@hotmail.com
violin

Lori Scheck
Waterville area
872-9266
elscheck@colby.edu
violin

Carol Preston/
Preston Music Studio
Damariscotta
207-350-2692

info@prestonmusicstudio.net
violin, viola, beginning cello

Julie Anderson
Greater Portland
207-332-4999

julieanderson471@gmail.com
viola/violin

Lauren Hastings Genova
Portland area
967-9120

hastingsle@gmail.com
violin

April Reed-Cox
Waldoboro/mid-coast-area
207-832-1268

barefootcellostudio@yahoo.com
cello

Susan Ramsey-
Foxcroft Academy/
North Country Strings Studio
Southern Piscataquis County
207-717-6022

susan.ramsey.strings@gmail.com
violin, viola